Some Updates

I haven’t written on here in a while because life was getting super crazy at the time, and also because I was feeling a little disheartened by not seeing a lot of progress and I was tired of taking weekly pictures.

However, I am now in month 5 of my Accutane journey and I think I am beginning to really see some results. The main problem for me, really, are acne marks and not necessarily the acne itself. My back is actually pretty good, as far as active acne spots go. The thing that makes me upset are the marks that are left over.

I’ve been working so hard on trying to get the marks to fade using a cream distributed by Garnier. It’s been okay, but I recently (as in yesterday) discovered that Vitamin E is very good for helping clear up acne marks. I just bought a bottle of Vitamin E this morning at the store and plan to use it very soon!

My side effects really have not been too crazy while on this medicine. My triglycerides have been a problem as of late with my blood tests, though. Last time it was 267. Not happy with that at all. But, other than that, my lips have been very dry and that’s about it. No joint pain. No nose bleeds. No depression or suicidal thoughts or anything super negative like that.

I feel like I have had to wait quite a while to really start to see results and that my hard work may start to be paying off — it takes patience, for sure. I’m not done yet with the medicine. I’m pretty sure I will do another month, and perhaps another month on top of that, making it a 7-month course instead of 6 like most people do. I’ve talked to my dermatologist on how underwhelmed I had been feeling with my back because it just wasn’t looking like how I thought it would, but he assured me it was because of the acne marks and not having actual acne and that he would keep on the medicine as long as he saw fit. So we’ll see.

No picture for this post, but I will take some soon if there are any of you who read this enough to be interested.

3 thoughts on “Some Updates

  1. Thanks for writing this blog! I am on day 2 and really excited to see results. Hopefully after 2 or 3 months I will see an improvement! I would love to see some pictures to see how your skin has improved

    • Thanks for commenting! It took me a while to see results, so be patient, but if you consistently take the medicine, then results will come in time. Get ready for super dry lips! Aquaphor worked alright, but Blistex’s Silk &Shine and Nivea have worked well for me. How many milligrams are you taking a day? Good luck on your journey!

Leave a Reply

