It’s Month 7!

I wish I could have updated this blog more often through my Accutane journey, but with craziness of life and other things, it’s been hard to find time for it. However, I finally took some new pictures and will tell you all how I’ve been doing. 

I am still taking Absorica, but this month will be my last month of pills! I’m honestly ready to take a break from the medicine and can’t wait to be done with the rest of my blood tests. I currently have about one or two active spots on my back and really just one on my face near my chin. That’s a big improvement from where I was. Unfortunately, I have a lot of discoloration on my back from the acne that used to be there, but my dermatologist said my skin should brighten some over the next six months. 
In the past week, I’ve had trouble again getting red, flaky patches on my arms. The rashy-looking patches on my arms have really been the only big side effect I’ve had from Absorica. The help treat the redness, my dermatologist gave me a prescription cream for it, which helps a lot, and told me to use CeraVe on top it. They also gave me something called Hylatopic, which is a prescription moisturizer, and it has helped a lot too. 
My lips have been so agonizingly dry throughout the whole thing. If you are someone who is about to start Accutane, GET SOME GOOD LIP MOISTURIZER! Lately I’ve been using LypSyl. It makes my lips feel cool, which I like. And I also like the packaging for this product. 

While on Absorica, I never had any differences in my mental health. I know that Accutane has had a reputation for messing with people’s emotional health; causing suicidal thoughts, etc. I was just fine on my medication, so I hope that is helpful for anyone considering Accutane. 
Also, ask your doctor if he/she has a coupon brochure that you can use for Absorica. There are some requirements that you need to meet to be able to use it (such as having health insurance), but with it, I was able to get Absorica every month for $10, which is a HUGE steal. I think the drug retails at $1700. There’s absolutely no way I would have been able to be on this drug if we had to pay that much every month for seven months. 
If any of you have questions that you would like me to answer, feel free to comment on the post! 

Here’s the pictures: 

ImageImageImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

